The Department for Transport is at the heart of the Government’s growth agenda. We sponsor key infrastructure programmes to support economic growth and meet future transport needs, as well as supporting vital transport services for businesses and consumers. The Department works domestically and internationally on key policy areas ranging from major projects such as High Speed Rail and Cross-Rail to understanding and providing for future transport demand across different travel choices. The Department is working to ensure our transport systems are efficient and effective, keeping them safe and secure, and reducing greenhouse gases and other environmental impacts.


Dr Nick Bisson

Director, HS2 Phase 2 and North

Richard Bruce

Director of Energy, Technology and Innovation

Gareth Davies

Director General, International and Security

Jessica Matthew

Deputy Director, Road User Licensing, Insurance and Safety

Clive Maxwell

Director General, High Speed Rail and Major Projects

Scott McPherson

Director General

John Parkinson

Director – International & Regulatory Reform, Department for Transport

Graham Pendlebury

Former Director, Local Transport

Pauline Reeves

Deputy Director Sustainable Travel and Equalities

Amanda Rowlatt

Chief Analyst

Professor Rod Smith

Former Chief Scientific Adviser