Inaugural Cambridge Risk and Uncertainty Conference

12 June 2017


The inaugural Cambridge Risk and Uncertainty Conference (RUC) will bring together world-leading scholars on risk and uncertainty communication and is scheduled to take place between June 12th-14th, 2017 in Cambridge, UK. The RUC will be hosted by Churchill College, University of Cambridge in collaboration with King's College Centre for Risk Management, the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA), and the Winton Centre for Risk and Evidence Communication. This year's theme will revolve around trust and evidence-based uncertainty communication in a post-truth world.

The call for abstract submissions will end on 28 March 2017. For more information please click here.

The conference will be chaired by:

  • Dr. Sander van der Linden, Director of the Cambridge Social Decision-Making Lab
  • Prof. Ragnar Lofstedt, Director of the King's Centre for Risk Managment
Speakers include:
  • Prof. Nicholas Pidgeon, MBE, Professor of Psychology and Director of the Understanding Risk Research Group, Cardiff University, UK
  • Prof. Elke Weber, Gerhard R. Andlinger Professor in Energy and the Environment and Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs, Princeton University
  • Dr. Hubert Deluyker, Chief Scientific Adviser, European Food and Safety Authority (EFSA)
  • Dr. Andy Hart, Lead Scientist on Risk Analysis, Fera Science Ltd., UK and Visiting Professor of Risk Analysis Practice at Newcastle University
  • Prof. Sir David Spiegelhalter, OBE, Winton Professor of Public Understanding of Risk, University of Cambridge, UK, and President of the Royal Statistical Society
  • Prof. Stephan Lewandowsky, Professor of Psychology and Chair in Cognitive Psychology, University of Bristol, UK
  • Geoffrey Podger, Past Director-General EFSA, Chief Executive of the UK Health & Safety Authority, and currently, Senior Visiting Research Fellow, King's Centre for Risk Management, and Director, HM Government Actuary's Department
  • Prof. Eric Johnson, Norman Eig Chair of Business, and Director, Center for Decision Sciences, Columbia University, USA
  • Prof. Ann Bostrom, Weyerhaeuser Endowed Professor of Environmental Policy, Evans School of Public Policy, University of Washington, USA
  • Prof. Ian Boyd, Chief Scientific Adviser, DEFRA (Department of Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs) and University of St. Andrews
  • Dr. Simone Schnall, Reader in Experimental Social Psychology, Department of Psychology, University of Cambridge
  • Julie Girling, Member of European Parliament (MEP). Committee on the Environment, Public Health, and Food Safety
  • Prof. David Budescu, Anne Anastasi Professor of Quantitative Psychology and Psychometrics, Fordham University, USA
  • Prof. Theresa Marteau, Director of the Behaviour and Health Research Unit, Department of Public Health, University of Cambridge
  • Prof. Mandeep Dhami, Professor in Decision Psychology, Middlesex University, London

Image: Dice. by W. Robert Howell