2024 CSaP Annual Cleevely Lecture: Dr Dave Smith, National Technology Adviser

24 April 2024, 5:30pm


Sign up for this event

2024 CSaP Annual Cleevely Lecture: The Government, science policy, and products - from concept to consumer

Date: Wednesday 24 April 2024

Time: 5:30pm-6:45pm followed by drinks and networking

Venue: Old Divinity School, St John's College, Cambridge

Our next Annual Cleevely Lecture will be delivered by Dr Dave Smith, National Technology Adviser at the Department for Science Innovation and Technology.

After six months as the first full time National Techology Adviser, Dave Smith will reflect on how UK government investment in the science base supports our private sector and how the Science and Technology Framework guides government innovation policy today.

Dave Smith was appointed the UK NTA in September 2023. He advises the Technology Secretary on the best approach to building and enhancing the UK’s technology strengths, working across government to champion the science and tech industries, and build networks across industry and academia to draw the best minds into policy making.

Dave Smith uses his decades of experience working across the technology industry, which has most recently seen him lead Rolls-Royce’s approach to innovation as Technology Director. His career has otherwise seen him sit as the Managing Director of a British tech firm working across cyber-security, networking and more, before taking up key leadership roles in renowned public sector and technology consultancies.

Dave reports directly to the Department for Science Innovation and Technology’s Permanent Secretary to drive forward the work of the newest government department to drive innovation, create better paid jobs and grow the economy.



The Annual Cleevely Lecture Series

In 2021, the inaugural Cleevely Lecture was given by Angela McLean. CSaP's Annual Lecture Series began in 2011 with a talk by John Beddington (then GCSA). Lectures since then have included Chris Whitty (2017), Ed Humpherson (2019), Sally Davies (2020), Indro Mukerjee (2022) and in 2023 by Sarah Sharples.

Dr David Cleevely was CSaP’s Founding Director from its inception in 2009 until he stepped down in 2015. We are very grateful to David for supporting and giving his name to this lecture series.

Dr Dave Smith

Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT)

Dr Rob Doubleday

Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge