The term 'School' in Cambridge usually indicates an administrative grouping of related departments. The School of Technology is one of six Schools, each of which has an elected supervisory body, The Council of the School, comprising representatives of the constituent faculties and departments in each School. The Council acts as a co-ordinating organisation for its group of departments and filters much academic business before its transmission to the General Board.

The aim of the School of Technology is to provide a focus and framework for its constituent departments to formulate and express views pertinent to technology, both within and without the University, recognising that technology has its own priorities and its own criteria for success: above all, technology departments recognise a duty to influence and be influenced by society at large and to work towards the creation of wealth and an improved quality of life.


Professor Howard Chase

Former Head of School

Dr Sue Jackson

Postgraduate Skills Training Officer, Technology