Easter Term 2014 Policy Fellows Elected

15 February 2014


The Centre has announced the names of the successful applicants to the Policy Fellowship (and Junior Policy Fellowship) for Easter Term 2014. The newly elected Fellows, who will make their first visits to Cambridge in May or June, are:

  • Mark Bale, Deputy Head of Health Science and Bioethics, Department of Health
  • Louis Barson, Deputy Director for Science and Innovation, UK Trade and Investment (UKTI)
  • David Bent, Director of Sustainable Business, Forum for the Future
  • Claire Craig, Deputy Head, Government Office for Science
  • Gemma Harper, Chief Social Scientist, Defra
  • Alexandra Meagher, Policy Adviser, Social Investment and Finance, Cabinet Office
  • Rob Mills, Head of European Energy Markets, Ofgem
  • Kenan Poleo, Regional Director, Science and Innovation Network Europe, Foreign and Commonwealth Office
  • Deborah Pullen, Group Research Director, BRE (Building Research Establishment)
  • Jane Rumble, Head of Polar Regions Department, Foreign and Commonwealth Office
  • James Smith, Head of Science and Technology, Office for Security and Counter-Terrorism, Home Office
  • Antony Walker, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, TechUK

Invitations to researchers to meet the Fellows on their visits to Cambridge will be made over the coming weeks. The Centre would like to thank the members of the election panel for their contributions to reviewing the candidates' applications. The next deadline for applications is 15 June (for Michaelmas Term 2014) - for further details see here.

(Banner image from Graham Chandler via Flickr)

Dr Mark Bale

Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC)

Louis Barson

Institute of Physics

David Bent- Hazelwood

Atelier of What’s Next

Dr Claire Craig

Queen's College, Oxford

Dr Gemma Harper

Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC)

Rob Mills

Social Finance

Kenan Poleo

Department for Business and Trade (DBT)

Dr Deborah Pullen


Jane Rumble

Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO)

James Smith

Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)