CSaP annual conference 2014: Evidence, networks and policy - translating new ideas into better outco...

10 April 2014, 9:30am


10 April 2014, The Royal Society

At this year's annual conference, science spokespersons from the three main Westminster parties - the Rt Hon Liam Byrne MP, Dr Julian Huppert MP, and the Rt Hon David Willetts MP - will debate the role of evidence and networks in public policy.


From global corporations to local voluntary groups, from national governments to town councils, the demand for evidence and expert advice exceeds internal capacity to deliver. It is not surprising therefore, that there is increasing attention on building networks of expertise and promoting open innovation so that the best available evidence can be brought to bear.

Invited speakers from government, academia, industry and civil society will debate some of the key ‘policy challenges’ identified by our network, including behavioural insights into emergency planning and response; ageing & public health; open innovation and big data.

Poster competition for early-career researchers

A poster competition will give early-career researchers an opportunity to discuss the potential policy implications and societal benefits of their research with policy makers. And networking sessions will provide an opportunity for attendees to meet with a range of experts and decision-makers, to make new connections and to develop existing relationships.

For information on how to take part in the poster competition, click here.

Confirmed speakers & chairs include:

Plenary sessions

  • Francine Bennett, CEO and Co-founder of Mastodon C
  • Liam Byrne, Shadow Minister for Universities, Science and Skills
  • David Cleevely, Founding Director, CSaP
  • Richard Heaton, Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Office
  • Julian Huppert, Liberal Democrat science spokesperson
  • Andrew Stott, former Director for Transparency and Digital Engagement for the UK government
  • Jill Rutter, Programme Director, Institute for Government
  • Hetan Shah, Executive Director, Royal Statistical Society
  • Stephan Shakespeare, Founder & CEO, YouGov
  • David Willetts, Minister for Universities, Science and Skills

Parallel sessions

  • Birgitte Andersen, Director, The Big Innovation Centre
  • John Clarkson, Director, Engineering Design Centre, University of Cambridge
  • Brian Collins, Director, International Centre for Infrastructure Futures (ICIF), UCL
  • Edwin Galea, Founding Director, Fire Safety Engineering Group, University of Greenwich
  • Rama Gheerawo, Deputy Director, The Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design, Royal College of Art
  • Olivia Gray, Chief Operating Officer, Willis Group
  • Simon Jewell, Managing Director, Niteworks
  • Andrea Lee, Deputy Director, Strategy, Department of Health
  • Theresa Marteau, Director, Behaviour and Health Research Unit, University of Cambridge
  • Tim Minshall, Reader in Technology & Innovation Management, University of Cambridge
  • Chris Pook, Deputy Director Green Economy, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
  • Liz Surkovic, Deputy Director, GO Science
Sponsorship of annual conference

This year's sponsors include the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Babraham Insitute and Lloyd's.

If you are interested in sponsoring the annual conference, please download details here.

For details of how to register, see below.

  • 09:30 Registration opens
  • 10:15 Welcome
  • 10:25 Keynote
  • 11:00 Session 1: Panel discussion - Big Data
  • 12:30 Lunch & Poster Session
  • 13:45 Session 2: Parallel seminars on Open innovation; Ageing & public health; and Behavioural insights into emergencies
  • 15:15 Tea
  • 15:45 Plenary
  • 16:00 Session 3:Panel discussion - Evidence, networks and policy
  • 17:15 Closing remarks
  • 17:30 Drinks & networking
  • 18:30 Close
Who should attend?

This conference has been designed for an audience of policy makers, academics, business leaders and early-career researchers who have an interest in the relationship between science and policy.

Cost of attending
  • Students and postdocs - £30
  • CSaP Fellows - £60
  • Government, academia. learned societies and voluntary sector - £85
  • Industry - £295
  • Press/journalists - FREE
How to register

Registration has now closed.

To apply for a free place, members of the Press should email jackie.ouchikh@csap.cam.ac.uk

Francine Bennett

Mastodon C Ltd

Rt Hon Liam Byrne MP

The Labour Party

Professor John Clarkson

Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge

Professor Edwin Galea

University of Greenwich

Rama Gheerawo

Royal College of Art

Sir Richard Heaton

Robinson College, Cambridge

Dr Julian Huppert

Jesus College, Cambridge

Simon Jewell


Andrea Lee

City of London Corporation

Professor Dame Theresa Marteau

Behaviour and Health Research Unit (BHRU), University of Cambridge

Professor Tim Minshall

Institute for Manufacturing (IfM), University of Cambridge

Chris Pook

Nuclear Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre (Nuclear AMRC)

Hetan Shah

British Academy

Elizabeth Surkovic

The Royal Society

Lord David Willetts

Resolution Foundation

Professor Birgitte Andersen

The Big Innovation Centre

Dr David Cleevely

Royal Academy of Engineering

Professor Brian Collins

University College London (UCL), Faculty of Engineering Science

Jill Rutter

UK in a Changing Europe

  • In news articles

    CSaP hosts MPs panel discussion on the role of evidence and expertise in policy

    What role does evidence and networks of expertise play in the policy development process? This was the question that science spokespersons from the three main Westminster parties were asked to address at CSaP's annual conference last month.

  • In news articles

    CSaP launches first Policy Challenges briefing on "Emergency Behaviours"

    CSaP announces its first Policy Challenges briefing on 'emergency behaviours' at the 2014 annual conference.