CSaP Annual Conference 2023

6 June 2023, 10am


CSaP Annual Conference and Reception

The Royal Society, London

6 June 2023, 10am-6pm followed by reception

Our annual conference brings together policy professionals, academic experts and business leaders to network and discuss how science and research can address the grand challenges of our time. Our conference this year will take place at the Royal Society and will focus on some of the challenges we are currently facing in the UK.


Download the programme here.
Morning sessions
  • Economic growth and productivity: Professor Jagjit Chadha, Director of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research (NIESR) and Cat Little, Second Permanent Secretary, HM Treasury
  • Innovation & societal challenges: Discussion led by Dr Eoin O'Sullivan, Director, Centre for Science, Technology & Innovation Policy (CSTI), Institute for Manufacturing, University of Cambridge; with Dr Molly Morgan Jones, Director of Policy, the British Academy; and Dan Shah, Director of Investment Strategy and System Insight, UKRI
  • What makes a good policy question?: Discussion led by Professor Magda Osman, Head of Research and Analysis, Centre for Science and Policy; with Vanna Aldin, Deputy Director and Lead Analyst, Business Strategy, DWP; Dr Carrie Heitmeyer, Head of Social Science, Government Office for Science; and Alex Tasker, ESRC Policy Fellow, Cabinet Office
Afternoon sessions
  • Lessons learnt from the Covid-19 panedemic: Professor Sharon Peacock, Professor of Public Health and Microbiology, Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge
  • Public health behaviours: chaired by Halima Khan; with Darren Bhattachary, CEO, Basis Social; Professor Dame Theresa Marteau, Director of the Behaviour and Health Research Unit (BHRU), Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge; and Dr Tim Leunig, Senior Policy Adviser to the Secretary of State, DHSC; and Senior Visiting Researcher, London School of Economics
  • Decarbonisation and energy transition: chaired by Dr Emily Farnworth, Director, Centre for Climate Engagement, Hughes Hall, Cambridge; with Richard Bruce, Director of Energy, Technology and Innovation, Department for Transport; Professor David Cebon, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Cambridge; and Jane Dennett-Thorpe, Deputy Director Net Zero Transition, Ofgem
  • Climate & resilience: chaired by Professor Emily So, Director, Cambridge University Centre for Risk in the Built Environment; with Professor Bhaskar Vira, Professor of Political Economy, University of Cambridge; Chris Stark, Executive Director, UK Climate Change Committee, and Professor Emily Shuckburgh, Director, Cambridge Zero, University of Cambridge

How to register

The cost of registration includes access to all sessions at the conference, lunch and refreshments, and the post conference drinks reception.

  • Students and postdocs - £45
  • CSaP Policy Fellows - £110
  • Government, academia, learned societies and voluntary sector - £145
  • Industry - £295
To register your place, please visit the University's online store.
For further information on the conference and how to register, please contact annualconference@csap.cam.ac.uk
Vanna Aldin

Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)

Richard Bruce

Department for Transport (DfT)

Professor David Cebon

Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge

Professor Jagjit Chadha

National Institute of Economic and Social Research (NIESR)

Carrie Heitmeyer

Government Office for Science (GO-Science)

Dr Tim Leunig

Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC)

Cat Little

HM Treasury

Professor Dame Theresa Marteau

Behaviour and Health Research Unit (BHRU), University of Cambridge

Dr Molly Morgan Jones

British Academy

Professor Magda Osman

Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge

Dr Eoin O'Sullivan

Centre for Science, Technology & Innovation Policy (CSTI)

Professor Sharon Peacock

Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge

Daniel Shah

UK Research and Innovation (UKRI)

Chris Stark

UK Climate Change Committee (CCC)

Alex Tasker

Cabinet Office

Professor Bhaskar Vira

University of Cambridge

Dr Rob Doubleday

Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge

Emily Farnworth

Hughes Hall Centre for Climate Engagement

Halima Khan

Bennett Institute, Cambridge

Professor Emily So

Department of Architecture, University of Cambridge

Jackie Ouchikh

Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge